What do you give an injured lemon? LemonAID

I guess loaves and muffins are my new passion these days. Rocking out to ginger coconut muffins, carrot raisin loaves and a bunch of other things I’ve thought up (working on making/posting them). Today at work we made lemon poppyseed loaves…and I was inspired. This is my first time personally using agave and I’m pretty impressed. I used it in a few things at my previous job and the loaves we made today had it so I thought, “Why not?” and gave it a shot.

Oh, and also…I love jokes about food.

Lemon Poppyseed Loaves

Makes 5 Loaves

½ cup soy or rice milk

juice from one lemon

1 ½ cup flour

1 tbsp baking powder

6 tbsp poppyseeds

½ tsp salt

½ cup canola oil

½ cup agave

zest from one lemon

  • Grease a mini loaf pan and preheat the oven to 375
  • Combine milk and lemon juice in measuring cup and set aside
  • Combine flour, baking powder, poppyseeds and salt in a large bowl.
  • Make a well in the middle and add the wet ingredients and lemon zest, mix until just combined
  • Scoop into loaf pans using 2 scoops from a yellow NSF scoop (about ½ a cup each)
  • Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  • Cool on a cooling rack.
Leave a Reply

